Before I went here, I was asked by my friends and relatives the following questions; Haven’t you heard about those viruses like H1N1, SARS, Bird flu, and etc. that exist in China? How about those harmful chemicals they put in their food products? remember that Melamine scandal.. Aren’t you aware that it’s the most populated and polluted country in the world and spitting is everywhere? Currently We have a territorial dispute with China in the West Phil. Sea, what if war happens between them and our country? And so on… I definitely understand where they are coming from, they are just concerned about my welfare.

I was given an opportunity to work between two countries and I choose China. Why? I don’t know how to answer it, because honestly I was also asking the same question to myself.

Now that I have been here for five months, answers to that are becoming deliberately apparent.

I remember telling a friend before that I wanted to experience spring season and see cherry blossoms.

Cherry Blossoms At Gucun Park, Shanghai
Cherry Blossoms At Gucun Park, Shanghai
Cluster of them makes a majestic view
A cluster of them makes a majestic view
So heavenly.
So heavenly.
Closer Look.
A closer look

I wanted also to experience a different culture.

Chinese people dancing, a very common sight in every park in China.
People dancing, a common sight in every park or open space in Shanghai
Can I join?
Can I join?
Parents looking for their children's potential mate in the profiles posted also by other parents
Parents looking for their children’s potential mate in the profiles posted also by other parents in the park
Tangbao or soup buns at Yuyuan Garden
Having tangbao or soup buns at Yuyuan Garden
Chinese flea market
Tourist shop
Chinese street food
Some Chinese delicacies
A man practicing calligraphy
A man practicing calligraphy
Chinglish anyone?
Chinglish anyone?

Learn new language (having a hard time though).

nnn
Some of my reference books in learning mandarin
Somebody left a note in my table.
Somebody left a note in my table.
Everything needs to be translated
Everything needs to be translated

Meet more wonderful people and learn from them.

I'm with wonderful people
With the most warmhearted human beings I’ve met in Shanghai
With my co-workers
With my co-workers
At French Concession
Churchmates

Explore different places.

Shanghai Museum
Shanghai Museum
Shanghai's Famous Skyline
Shanghai’s Famous Skyline in daylight
Shanghai's Famous Skyline at night
At night
The Bund at night
The Bund
With the 2nd tallest Bldg. in the world at the background
Shanghai Tower, second tallest building in the world
temple
Shezhuang temple
At East Nanjing Rd.
At East Nanjing Rd.
Near Century Park
Near Century Park
At Qibao Old town
At Qibao Old Town
At Xintiandi
At Xintiandi

And I know that this is just the beginning of my exciting adventure in this Middle Kingdom. There are still more places to explore and more answers to be revealed for that seemingly immortal question “why in China?”.

How about their concerns mentioned above? Well, I have already experience some. But I want to focus on the brighter side, knowing that I don’t live in a perfect world. And it makes life exciting Isn’t it? I would certainly miss half of my life If I wasn’t able to went here. Wo Ai China.