You became a widow few days right after your 34th birthday. You raised me and my sister single-handedly and been through a lot of hardships and difficulties. You’ve struggled how to make both ends meet and I remember back then how you’ve always cried every time we visit Papa’s grave while I stood there staring at you and wondering why. I was just 5 yrs. old then and don’t have any idea how much pain you’ve felt losing papa. You have done a lot sacrifices for us your children. Maybe at some point you have already wanted to give up because without him, our lives will never be the same again. But thank you for being strong and holding on, because that was the only thing that I and my sister needed most at that time.

You’ve always been supportive of my endeavors and you’ve never given up on me. You are very patient with me and you remind me do the same to myself as well at times when I am being frustrated because things are not going my way. Your unconditional love has always been my source of strength. I am not afraid to fly and spread my wings because I am confident that the end of the day there is always that person who will accept me wholeheartedly despite my failures and brokenness.

You have also shown me an example on how to be kind, compassionate, and generous to others. Hence, I try my very best to become a better person because I have a mother like you whom I look up to. Lastly, you have faith that can move mountains and for this reason I am always grateful to God for having you as my mother.

Thank you Ma for everything and I love you so much with all your imperfections. Happy Mother’s Day to you and to all mothers out there!